Musicals and/or Music Related?

I kept delaying this post because I had no clue how to go about it, but then I heard Billie Joe Armstrong sing Wake Me Up When September Ends for Global Citizen and I literally couldn’t stop my singing along with every fiber of my being. I may have even cried a little. It felt great. Music has the power to lift your spirits and connect with you in ways you wouldn’t think possible. So I figured there couldn’t be a better time to make this list. Here’s Bille Joe Armstrong singing incase you want to feel the magic:

I’d say go in with low hopes because honestly, I was so confused compiling this list that I may have messed it up. While some of these movies aren’t musicals per se, they all focus on music in one way or the other so that should count for something. I also realized a few of these movies have popped up on previous lists, but that’s just because they’re that good.

As per usual, the list is mentioned below; keep scrolling for trailers and summaries.

  1. Bandslam
  2. Begin Again
  3. Bohemian Rhapsody
  4. Camp Rock
  5. Grease
  6. Hairspray
  7. High School Musical
  8. Mamma Mia
  9. Mary Poppins
  10. Pitch Perfect
  11. Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping
  12. Rent
  13. Rocketman
  14. School of Rock
  15. Sing Street
  16. Straight Outta Compton
  17. The Greatest Showman
  18. The Unauthorized Bash Brothers Experience
  19. Yesterday

Cartoons/Animations

Note: The movies on this end of the list are literally elite, and they’ve had a pretty significant impact on my childhood. The music from any one of these soundtracks can make me turn from a lifeless blob to a karaoke expert in a matter of seconds. It also carries a hint of that ever so sweet nostalgia. Ideally, I should be writing a summary for these movies too but I know for a fact that most of you grew up watching these, the same as I did so I didn’t think it would be necessary. Obviously, all movies mentioned in this post come recommended, but these ones hold a golden spot in my heart. If you haven’t seen any of them, and you’re open to watching cartoons/animations, please do check them out! (Click the links for trailers).

  1. Aladdin
  2. Beauty and the Beast
  3. Coco
  4. Frozen (1& 2)
  5. Hercules
  6. Moana
  7. Mulan
  8. Pocahontas
  9. Sing
  10. Tangled
  11. The Hunchback of Notre Dame
  12. The Lion King
  13. The Little Mermaid
  14. The Prince of Egypt

Also, while you’re here check out my comediesromantic comedies,  high school comedies, thrillers and movies based on real life posts.


Bandslam

A group of unlikely students form a band together to compete for a chance at a record deal. I watched this so many times as a kid and thoroughly enjoyed it. It’s got all the unnecessary aspects of a teen movie but with an added bonus of Lisa Kudrow and a dope soundtrack. Don’t knock it till you try it.

Begin Again

On one side you have a recently fired record producer, and on the other, you have a recently single singer. They cross paths and decide to record an album together, but with no funding or studio support, they need to get creative. I have no shame in admitting that bearded Mark Ruffalo makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside so he’s the reason I watched this and I’m glad I did because it was a great movie.

Bohemian Rhapsody

This movie revolves around the life of Freddie Mercury, of Queen: from his early life to his rise to fame and becoming a global sensation. The soundtrack features almost all of Queen’s best hits and if you didn’t love them already, it will seriously make you appreciate their music so much more. The movie itself is also very entertaining, wholesome and really fun.

Camp Rock

The daughter of a caterer finds herself in a prestigious musical camp and creates a fake persona to fit in. If you haven’t watched this movie, you haven’t lived. This is here because it has one of the best ever Disney soundtracks and it’s pretty much been a rite of passage for a lot of us, but I rewatched it a few years ago and it was cringe central. Go in with an open mind, and remember this was 2000s Disney.

Grease

Danny and Sandy had a brief summer fling and parted ways assuming they’d never see each other again, but after they find themselves in the same high school, feelings unfold. As far as classics go, this is on top of the list. Have the lyrics aged well? Probably not, but it’s an iconic soundtrack and I love it. If you don’t mind dipping your toes in some late 70s movies, I’d say check this out.

Hairspray

Set in Baltimore in the 1960s, this movie revolves around a high-schooler, Tracy Turnblad, who becomes an overnight success after auditioning for a television show based on music and dance. She tries to use her influence to push forward racial integration on television. If not for the wholesome movie, stay for the epic cast.

High School Musical

In case the name doesn’t give it away, this is about an actual highschool musical and a teenage basketball player having a severe identity crisis. In one way or another, this movie (and it’s successors)quite literally changed lives. To this day, if someone asks “what team?” the answer will always be “Wildcats!” regardless of context. I know I haven’t heard most of these songs in a good while but you can bet I still know all the lyrics by heart.

Mamma Mia

Desperate to find her father, a bride-to-be writes to three of mother’s ex-lovers in the hopes that at least one would show up; when all of them come to meet her, she realizes she can’t keep this hidden from her mother and hilarity ensues. This is literally one of my favorite movies of all-time; it’s so damn heart-warming. I had no clue what ABBA was until I watched this, and now I can’t imagine my life without it. Both this and the sequel are feel-good classics that are guaranteed to lift your spirits.

Mary Poppins

In its barest essentials, Mary Poppins is a story about the dopest nanny ever who helps reform two menacing kids. This movie was a part of my life way before I actually watched it. I remember being a child (like a proper child) and learning so many songs from this soundtrack for music class in school. It’s definitely iconic, and it’s got Julie Andrews and Dick Van Dyke in it.

Pitch Perfect

Beca finds herself recruited to join an all-girl acapella group and helps them move from their traditional setlists to newer genres. This is the worst synopsis for a really great movie, and I sincerely apologize. I remember listening to exclusively acapella songs after watching this movie, that’s how much I enjoyed this. There’s a total of three movies in this franchise and they’re all centered around various forms of acapella competitions. It’s super wholesome and absolutely hilarious.

Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping

I’ve watched, rewatched, forced people to watch this movie so much that if I close my eyes, I can see the entire thing, credits and all. I obviously watched this for Andy Samberg and the lads, Akiva and Jorma aka The Lonely Island. If you don’t know them, take this time of social distancing to listen to a song or two, and perhaps even watch this movie. The plot revolves around a singer who disbands his team go solo and realizes things aren’t as easy as they seem. It’s funny to the core and the music is too damn catchy. 20% of my library can attest to that.

Rent

Set during the AIDS epidemic in the 1990s, this movie follows a group of New Yorkers struggling to get through various obstacles of life. There are several minor storylines with all the characters and it’s such a great movie with an even better soundtrack. Seasons of Love will make my heart soar any day of the week.

Rocketman

This movie takes on the life of Elton John and his rise to fame. It’s a fantasy musical that shows us the highest and lowest points of his life in the most beautiful way possible. With some of his best songs being covered by the exceptionally talented Taron Egerton, this movie had me dancing in my seat like a damn fool. Elton John’s music has a special spot in my heart and this movie meant a lot to me.

School of Rock

A rock enthusiast takes up a job as a substitute teacher, and since he has no actual experience in teaching, he forms a band with the students instead. He trains them to love “real” music and gets them in shape to take part in a local Battle of the Bands. You can never go wrong with Jack Black, especially if there’s music involved.

Sing Street

Trying to cope with moving from a private to a public school, Conor decides to form his own band. He has no actual experience or friends but he really wants to impress a girl so he pulls some strings and tries to make it happens. It’s a very wholesome and enjoyable coming-of-age movie.

Straight Outta Compton

Revolving around the hip hop group NWA, featuring artists in the likes of Ice Cube, Eazy E, and Dr. Dre, this movie showcases the trials and tribulations these individuals had to overcome to rise to fame. Their records created controversies due to their brash lyrics which particularly challenged those in authority and their treatments of African Americans in the community. Watching this movie showed me that a)  shit that happened 20 years ago is still very much relevant today, and b) my music library has zero variety.

The Greatest Showman

Based on P.T. Barnum’s life, this movie shows his rise to fame and success and how wanting too much gets him in a lot of trouble. He keeps trying new things and in the process neglects his friends, family and basically anyone that cared for him. With the most beautiful original soundtrack to come out of a movie in 2016, this fantasy dramatic romance musical is one of the most heartwarming films ever. I’ve been told the actual Barnum is a grade-A dick who exploited a lot of vulnerable people amongst other things, so we don’t care for that in this household. We do, however, stan Hugh Jackman powering through and beating his cancer to play this role, and singing these songs despite his doctor advising against it. Both the music and the cast in this movie so breathtaking and I love it.

The Unauthorized Bash Brothers Experience

I wish I knew how to explain this. This “movie” is literally a 30-minute music video, also referred to as a visual poem. Actual legends The Lonely Island wrote, starred and directed this wildly confusing Netflix special based on real life baseball players, Jose Canseco and Mark McGwire. There are ten songs in total and they’re absolutely hilarious. Check out one of them below:

Yesterday

After getting in a minor accident, a man wakes up in a world where The Beatles don’t exist. He sings one of their songs on a local TV show and gets recognized and asked to make more music, so he writes all The Beatles songs he can remember and passes them off as his own. It’s a great movie with an even better soundtrack and I quite liked watching it.

 

 

 

One comment

Leave a comment