XOXO, Gossip Girl.

If I tell you how fast I watched all six seasons of Gossip Girl, you would call a doctor because it was definitely unhealthy. I have gone on binge-weekends before, but those were for short shows like Stranger Things (over-hyped) or The Punisher (traumatizing), not six whole seasons of neverending drama. The ideal thing to do would be to take a break from Netflix but you and I both know that’s not going to happen.

This show was an actual dramatic mess, and not even in the best way, but my low self-esteem and desire for anything to take my mind off it just clutched on to this show for dear life and didn’t let go. I may or may not have lost some brain cells watching it. No offense to actual fans of the show, though. I mean no disrespect.

The whole time I was watching this (which wasn’t a long time) my main goal was to find a character who was a “good” person. I had my bets on Dan Humphrey but we all know how that turned out. He did have a moral compass for a season or two and then he was just as schemey as the rest of the Upper East Side. I think after careful consideration, the only people (in my humble, yet useless opinion) who are in fact good people are: Dorota, Vanya, and Cyrus. Everyone else, in one way or other, has hurt the people they love. Yes, Rufus too, don’t @ me.

I feel like I can say a lot about this show but let’s start with the last episode because my brain is all mushy from the lack of sleep and can’t remember the first few seasons. Chuck and Blair getting married? Thank god. I thought it would never happen. I had high hopes for their relationship because every now and then a gif of the two would appear on my Tumblr dash alongside a misleading #goals. Chuck Bass and Blair Waldorf are not goals, they are far from it. Their relationship was toxic, unhealthy and they consistently hurt each other. That’s not love, that’s sadomasochism.

On the topic of odd couples, Dan and Serena’s relationship was cute at first, but that was before Rufus and Lily got married. Not only were they step-siblings but they also shared an actual sibling, Scott. Who was mentioned once and then forgotten? You’re doing great, writing team! Good job. The point is, regardless of the fact that Rufus and Lily broke up, Dan and Serena’s relationship definitely crossed some moral guidelines. It just got weird to watch. To me, at least.

Dan being Gossip Girl came as a shock to me, but I guess the way they explained it makes sense. But I’m telling you, if I were to rewatch the show knowing that Dan Humphrey was Gossip Girl, I don’t think it would make sense. Sure, his character just wanted to feel included but to go to that lengths? Was it really necessary? His holier-than-thou attitude makes me want to fight him. Forever grateful for Nate for punching him in the face.

Speaking of Nate Archibald, I know he is one of the main people, but for some reason, his character feels more like an afterthought. It makes sense that Dan condensed Nate’s and Eric’s characters together in his book because he really did feel like half a person. I feel like his character was a buffer that existed solely for plot-related reasons. I’m still trying to figure out his importance. No offense.

The whole idea of Gossip Girl is absurd to me, considering the fact that Dan Humphrey came up with it as a cry for attention makes sense because he’s a whiny toddler. I know I spend my time thrashing movies or characters, but to do it to real people, who you know personally with the intent to hurt them? That’s beyond me, and hopefully you too. Gossip Girl is just cyberbullying on an elevated level. I did enjoy binge-watching this show though and there were a lot of things I liked about it (or I wouldn’t have lost sleep over it), but all that drama just took out the positivity in me hence the lack of compliments in this post. It was a good show. I’m just not sure I’d watch it again, but who knows? That’s one secret I’ll never tell.

xoxo,

Noble Ramen.

2 comments

Leave a comment